Composers: Hartmann, Martin
Compositions: Concerto Funebre, Polyptyque
Performers:Patricia Kopatchinskaja v , Camerata Bern
Catalogue Number:Alpha ALPHA545

The violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja, known for the uniquely fierce extent to which she immerses herself into and ‘recreates’ a piece of music, gives us her take on the Holocaust. The program is built around two great 20th-century works for violin and string orchestra: Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s Concerto Funebre (1939) and Swiss composer Frank Martin’s Polyptyque (1973). Kopatchinskaja writes: “The music is made out of the blood and tears of...

This article is available to Limelight subscribers.

Log in to continue reading.

Access our paywalled content and archive of magazines, regular news and features for the limited offer of $3 per month. Support independent journalism.

Subscribe now