Composers: Shostakovich
Compositions:Piano sonatas, 24 Preludes
Performers: Andrey Gugnin  p
Catalogue Number:Hyperion CDA68267

At the Sydney International Piano Competition, many competitors from the former Soviet bloc have been placed amongst the prize winners. The competition’s most recent winner is the fresh-faced Andrey Gugnin who turned in an exemplary performance of the concluding Precipitatofrom Prokofiev’s exciting, though thorny Seventh Sonata. In that short performance, Gugnin gave the most finely detailed performance I’ve yet heard of the work – and I am taking the likes of Richter, Horowitz and Gould into...

Access our paywalled content and archive of magazines, regular news and features for the limited offer of $3 per month. Support independent journalism.

Subscribe now or log in to continue reading.