Composers: Mozart
Compositions: Piano Sonatas Nos 9, 4, 1 and 6
Performers: Jean Muller
Catalogue Number:Hänssler Classic HC19074

Luxembourger Jean Muller is on a mission to restore Mozart’s 19 piano sonatas to what he considers their rightful place in the canon. “[They] are often misunderstood as rococo-like, mawkish, exclusively decorative works,” he says, challenging Schnabel’s famous quote that “Mozart is too easy for children and too difficult for adults”. Muller’s is a hard case to make in light of Uchida’s go-to Decca set of the early 2000s and the earlier Pires...

This article is available to Limelight subscribers.

Log in to continue reading.

Access our paywalled content and archive of magazines, regular news and features for the limited offer of $3 per month. Support independent journalism.

Subscribe now