The Sydney Symphony Orchestra has today announced the latest intake of young musicians for its acclaimed Fellowship program. Selected from over 200 applications across Australia and New Zealand, 13 young artists will spend a year being mentored by orchestra members, rehearsing and performing concerts with the SSO and participating in masterclasses with guest artists. The Fellows will also perform together in a chamber music series and take part in a variety of outreach projects.

SSO, Fellowship, FellowsThe Sydney Symphony Orchestra’s 2018 Fellows. Photo © Keith Saunders 

“For 17 years, the SSO Fellowship has provided young musicians with the tools they need to pursue professional careers,” said Fellowship Artistic Director Roger Benedict. “Participating in the program ensures that these musicians will emerge job-ready, be equipped with everything they need to secure positions with orchestras worldwide, and showcase the strong talent that we have across Australia and New Zealand.”

Sami Butler (percussion), Alanna Jones (double bass), Jenna Smith (trumpet) and Amanda Tillett (trombone), will return as second-year Fellows.

Jones says that her first year as a Fellow helped shape her approach to music, providing her with “more confidence as a chamber player and in my own sound.”

“Playing chamber music is so central to being an orchestral musician and double bassists don’t often get the chance to play a lot of it,” Jones adds. “I learned a lot about working with others, when I should play more or less, and how to make musical decisions that best serve the music, rather than my own needs.”

Smith agrees, saying “I’ve always loved working with musicians because they have a similar mind to me. There’s nothing like playing in an orchestra with interesting people. What I loved most about being a Fellow last year was playing chamber music with my colleagues because everyone brings their own unique talents to the table. The Fellowship is such a good transition from studying to getting your foot in to the professional orchestral world.”

This year’s Fellows include:

Tobias Aan, 22, violin (ACT)

Sami Butler, 23, percussion (SA)

Aidan Gabriels, 24, horn (WA)

Rachel Howie, 28, flute (TAS)

Alanna Jones, 29, double bass (NZ)

Justin Julian, 19, viola (NSW)

Magdalenna Krstevska, 23, clarinet (VIC)

Eve Osborn, 21, oboe (NSW)

Jenna Smith, 23, trumpet (NSW)

Amanda Tillett, 24, trombone (SA)

Alison Wormell, 20, bassoon (NSW)

Daniel Pini, 28, cello (NSW)

Rollin Zhao, 25, violin (ACT)