Twelve young musicians will gain invaluable professional experience as part of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra’s prestigious Fellowship program in 2019. The year-long intensive training program sees exceptional artists from Australia and New Zealand mentored by orchestra members, rehearse and perform with the orchestra, participate in masterclasses with guest artists and work with Chief Conductor and Artistic Director David Robertson. As in recent years, the Fellows also perform in a chamber music series and lead community outreach projects, helping them become job-ready musicians.

The 2019 Fellows with Roger Benedict. Photo © Ant Geernaert

“The Sydney Symphony Orchestra has a long-standing commitment to supporting the next generation of musicians,” said Fellowship Artistic Director and Principal Viola Roger Benedict. “In its 18-year history, the Sydney Symphony Orchestra’s Fellowship program has continually provided young artists with the tools and opportunities needed to pursue and share their musical passions as professional musicians.

“The 2019 Sydney Symphony Orchestra Fellows are representative of what the next generation of musicians are capable of. I look forward to working closely with them and showcasing the phenomenal skill and talent of Australasia’s best and brightest young artists.”

Violinist Tobias Aan, horn player Aidan Gabriels and oboist Eve Osborn return as second-year Fellows.

“This program is as good as it gets for an aspiring professional orchestral musician, and I feel extremely lucky to be able to do it for the second year running,” said Aan. “This year, I’m looking forward to playing chamber music with new colleagues and having more lessons with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra musicians. I’ve had a wonderful time playing with this fantastic orchestra and have developed significantly as a musician. I can’t wait to come back for more to extend my practical skill!”

Gabriels is similarly enthused, describing his experience in the program as “extremely eye opening to the professional world of orchestra music.”

Last year’s Fellows performed as part of the Nanjing Art Festival in what was the first international tour in the program’s history.

This year’s Fellows are:

Tobias Aan, 23, ACT (Violin)

David Barlow, 24, NSW (Double bass)

Adam Cooper-Stanbury, 23, ACT (Percussion)

Beth Condon, 28, VIC (Viola)

Aidan Gabriels, 25, WA (French horn)

David Johnson, 23, NSW (Trumpet)

James Julian, 20, NSW (Clarinet)

Jordy Meulenbroeks, 22, QLD (Bassoon)

Jessica Oddie, 28, NZ (Violin)

Eve Osborn, 22, NSW (Oboe)

Eliza Sdraulig, 24, VIC (Cello)

Dale Vail, 24, NZ (Trombone)