Sydney Theatre Company took home the lion’s share of honours tonight at the 2018 Sydney Theatre Awards. Kate Mulvany’s sweeping, epic adaptation of Ruth Park’s beloved trilogy of novels, The Harp in the South: Part One and Part Two,saw STC pick up three major awards – Best Mainstage Production, Best Direction of a Mainstage Production (Kip Williams), and Best New Australian Work (Mulvany).

Ben O’Toole and Rose Riley in  Sydney Theatre Company’s production of  The Harp in the South   © Daniel  Boud  

Its bold, eerily prescient production of The Resistible Rise of Arturo Ui saw the company win a further four awards. Hugo Weaving’s bravura performance in the title role saw him named Best Male Actor in a Leading Role, with Mitchell Butel’s comic turns as a wannabe Shakespearean theatre director and slimy businessman winning him Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role. Robert Cousins’ spare yet slick design, incorporating a large screen on which live video was...

Access our paywalled content and archive of magazines, regular news and features for the limited offer of $3 per month. Support independent journalism.

Subscribe now or log in to continue reading.