Kate Miller Heidke’s ‘The Rabbits’ and Brett Dean’s ‘Bliss’ each receive a nomination for the 2016 awards.

Opera Australia artistic director Lyndon Terracini has joined the panel of esteemed judges for the 2016 International Opera Awards, which announced its shortlist of nominees this week. The prestigious awards is one of the world’s most high profile and comprehensive celebrations of the accomplishments of creative professionals working within opera, both on and off stage.

Joining Terracini on the jury panel, which is chaired by the editor of Opera magazine, John Allison, are a number of other directors from some of the world’s finest opera companies. These include Joan Matabosch, Artistic Director of Teatro Real, Madrid, Evans Mirageas, Artistic Director of Cincinnati Opera and the Vice-President for Artistic Planning for The Atlanta Symphony,  Annilese Miskimmon, opera director, General Manager and Artistic Director of the Danish National Opera and incoming Director of Opera of Den Norske Opera and Ballet, Nicholas Payne, Director of Opera Europa, and Sebastian Schwarz, outgoing Deputy Artistic Director of Theater an der Wien and recently announced new General Director of Glyndebourne.

The Rabbits, one of the Australian productions nominated for a 2016 IOA.

Also on the panel are a number of high profile musicologists and journalists including Joanna C. Lee, Hugh Canning, the chief music critic for The Sunday Times, George Hall, opera critic for The Guardian and British theatre trade magazine The Stage, George Loomis, opera and classical writer for Opera, Musical America, The New York Times (International Edition) and The Financial Times, and Erna Metdepenninghen, correspondent for Opera.

Two Australian productions received nods among the 2016 nominations, both of which are contemporary works commissioned by Opera Australia: Kate Miller-Heidke’s The Rabbits for Best World Premiere, and Brett Dean’s Bliss for Best CD (Complete Opera). However, no Australian singers, conductors or directors were included among the international spread of nominees this year.

The winners of the awards will be announced on May 15 at a gala event in London, but before the expert panels have their say there will be a public vote, currently open on the Opera Award website.

2016 International Opera Awards Nominations

Atlanta Opera
Birmingham Opera Company
English Touring Opera
Monster in the Maze (Aix en Provence, Berlin, London)|Opera Holland Park|
The Opera Platform

CD (Complete Opera)
Brett Dean: Bliss, ABC Classics
Donizetti: Les Martyrs, Opera Rara
Handel: Partenope, Erato
Nielsen: Maskarade, Dacapo
Smetana: Dalibor, Onyx
Verdi: Aida, Warner

CD (Operatic Recital)
Diana Damrau: Fiamma del Belcanto, Warner
Ann Hallenberg: Agrippina, DHM
Bryan Hymel: Héroïque, Warner
Christiane Karg: Scene!, Berlin Classics
Matthew Rose: Arias for Benucci, Hyperion
Sonya Yoncheva: Paris, Mon Amour, Sony

English National Opera
Komische Oper
Metropolitan Opera
Opera Vlaanderen

René Jacobs
Vladimir Jurowski
Gianandrea Noseda
Carlo Rizzi
Christian Thielemann
Mark Wigglesworth

Michael Levine
Vicki Mortimer
Rebecca Ringst
Heike Scheele
Vita Tzykun
Annemarie Woods

Kasper Holten
Damiano Michieletto
Katie Mitchell
Laurent Pelly
David Pountney
Mariusz Treliński

Puccini: Manon Lescaut (The Royal Opera), Sony
Rameau: Les Indes galantes (Les Talens Lyriques), Alpha
Rimsky-Korsakov: The Tsar’s Bride (Staatsoper Berlin), Bel Air
Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier (Glyndebourne), Opus Arte
Szymanowski: Król Roger (The Royal Opera), Opus Arte
Wagner: Tannhäuser (Bayreuth Festival), Opus Arte

Female Singer
Anna Bonitatibus
Mariella Devia
Rosa Feola
Christine Goerke
Evelyn Herlitzius
Anna Netrebko

Ruhr Triennale
Santa Fe

Male Singer
Javier Camarena
Anthony Roth Costanzo
Stéphane Degout
Igor Golovatenko
Gregory Kunde
Henry Waddington

New Production
Bellini: I Puritani, Welsh National Opera
Berg: Wozzeck, Lyric Opera of Chicago
Britten: Peter Grimes, Theater an der Wien
Halévy: La Juive, Opera Vlaanderen
Handel: Saul, Glyndebourne
Mascagni/Leoncavallo: Cavalleria Rusticana/Pagliacci, Salzburg Easter Festival

Opera Company
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Dutch National Opera
Opera Philadelphia
Polish National Opera
Theater an der Wien
Welsh National Opera

Readers’ Award
Danielle De Niese
Joyce DiDonato
Michael Fabiano
Gerald Finley
Juan Diego Flórez
Dmitri Hvorostovsky
Ermonela Jaho
Eva-Maria Westbroek

Rediscovered Work
Donizetti: Il furioso all’isola di San Domingo, English Touring Opera
Egk: Peer Gynt, Staatstheater Braunschweig
Mascagni: Guglielmo Ratcliff, Wexford Festival
Offenbach: Le Roi Carotte, Opéra de Lyon
Porpora: Il Germanico, Innsbrucker Festwochen der alten Musik
Tippett: The Ice Break, Birmingham Opera Company

World Premiere
Harrison Birtwistle: The Cure, Aldeburgh Festival
Pascal Dusapin: Penthesilea, La Monnaie
Hans Gefors: Notorious, Gothenburg Opera
Jennifer Higdon: Cold Mountain, Santa Fe Opera
Jimmy López: Bel Canto, Lyric Opera of Chicago
Kate Miller-Heidke: The Rabbits, Barking Gecko/Opera Australia / Perth and Melbourne Festivals

Young Conductor
Bassem Akiki
Matthew Aucoin
Mirga Gražinyté-Tyla
Christian Kluxen
Giacomo Sagripanti
Duncan Ward

Young Director
Fabio Ceresa
Daisy Evans
Max Hoehn
Sjaron Minailo
Eva-Maria Melbye
Rafael Villalobos

Young Female Singer
Ekaterina Bakanova
Aida Garifullina
Asmik Grigorian
Golda Schultz
Nadine Sierra
Nozuko Teto

Young Male Singer
Michele Angelini
Atalla Ayan
Stanislas de Barbeyrac
Ioan Hotea
Gyula Orendt
Fernando Javier Radó