Australian actor, musician and comedian Eddie Perfect has received a Tony nomination for Best Original Score for Beetlejuice. Despite opening to highly mixed reviews, the musical has scooped up eight nominations, including Best Musical, Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Musical (Alex Brightman) and Best Book (Scott Brown and Anthony King).

Beetlejuice, Broadway,Alex Brightman and Sophia Anne Caruso in Beetlejuice. Photo © Matthew Murphy

Australian Peter England was nominated for Best Scenic Design of a Musical for King Kong, for which Perfect also wrote the songs. Produced by Australian company Global Creatures, King Kong (which premiered originally in Melbourne) received similarly divisive reviews when the reworked American production opened last year. It has received three nominations including Best Sound Design in a Musical (Peter Hylenski) and Best Lighting Design of a Musical (Peter Mumford).

The musical Hadestown, a retelling of the Orpheus and Eurydice myth with a folk, jazz and blues score, leads the pack this year with 14 nominations. As well as Best Musical, it has received nods for Best Performance by an Actress (Eva Noblezada), Best Book (Anaïs Mitchell) and Best Original Score (Anaïs Mitchell). Hadestown is closely followed by jukebox musical Ain’t Too Proud – The Life and Times of the Temptations, which has received 12 nods, and Tootsie, which has picked up 11. All are in the running for Best Musical alongside Beetlejuice and The Prom, which has received seven nominations.

Paddy Considine as Quinn Carney and Charles Dale as Father Horrigan. Photo © Joan Marcus

Leading the pack in the plays categories is Jez Butterworth’s critically acclaimed The Ferryman, a family drama set in Northern Ireland in 1981. It has received nine nominations including Best Play, Best Direction (Sam Mendes), Best Actor in a Play (Paddy Considine) and Best Actress in a Play (Laura Donnelly).

Other contenders for Best Play are autobiographical drama What the Constitution Means to Me, Choir Boy, Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus and Ink, which charts the birth of the Murdoch era of The Sun. In a surprise to Tony predictors, Aaron Sorkin’s highly acclaimed To Kill a Mockingbird did not receive a Best Play nomination.

The Tony Awards will take place on June 9.

Full list of nominations

Best play

“Choir Boy” by Tarell Alvin McCraney

“The Ferryman” by Jez Butterworth

“Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus” by Taylor Mac

“Ink” by James Graham

“What the Constitution Means to Me” by Heidi Schreck

Best revival of a musical

“Kiss Me, Kate”

Rodgers and Hammerstein’s “Oklahoma!”

Best musical

“Ain’t Too Proud to Beg”



“The Prom”


Best revival of a play

Arthur Miller’s “All My Sons”

“The Boys in the Band” by Mart Crowley

“Burn This” by Lanford Wilson

“Torch Song” by Harvey Fierstein

“The Waverly Gallery” by Kenneth Lonergan

Best performance by an actor in a leading role in a musical

Brooks Ashmanskas, “The Prom”

Derrick Baskin, “Ain’t Too Proud”

Alex Brightman, “Beetlejuice”

Damon Daunno, “Oklahoma!”

Santino Fontana, “Tootsie”

Best performance by an actress in a leading role in a musical

Stephanie J. Block, “The Cher Show”

Caitlin Kinnunen, “The Prom”

Beth Leavel, “The Prom”

Eva Noblezada, “Hadestown”

Kelli O’Hara, “Kiss Me, Kate”

Best performance by an actor in a leading role in a play

Paddy Considine, “The Ferryman”

Bryan Cranston, “Network”

Jeff Daniels, “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Adam Driver, “Burn This”

Jeremy Pope, “Choir Boy”

Best performance by an actress in a leading role in a play

Annette Bening, “All My Sons”

Laura Donnelly, “The Ferryman”

Elaine May, “The Waverly Gallery”

Janet McTeer, “Bernhardt/Hamlet”

Laurie Metcalf, “Hillary and Clinton”

Heidi Schreck, “What the Constitution Means to Me”

Best book of a musical

“Ain’t Too Proud,” Dominique Morisseau

“Beetlejuice,” Scott Brown and Anthony King

“Hadestown,” Anaïs Mitchell

“The Prom,” Bob Martin and Chad Beguelin

“Tootsie,” Robert Horn

Best original score (music and/or lyrics) written for the theater

“Be More Chill,” Joe Iconis

“Beetlejuice,” Eddie Perfect

“Hadestown,” Anaïs Mitchell

“The Prom,” Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin

“To Kill a Mockingbird,” Adam Guettel

“Tootsie,” David Yazbek

Best direction of a musical

Rachel Chavkin, “Hadestown”

Scott Ellis, “Tootsie”

Daniel Fish, “Oklahoma!”

Des McAnuff, “Ain’t Too Proud”

Casey Nicholaw, “The Prom”

Best direction of a play

Rupert Goold, “Ink”

Sam Mendes, “The Ferryman”

Bartlett Sher, “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Ivo van Hove, “Network”

George C. Wolfe, “Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus”

Best performance by an actor in a featured role in a musical

André De Shields, “Hadestown”

Andy Grotelueschen, “Tootsie”

Patrick Page, “Hadestown”

Jeremy Pope, “Ain’t Too Proud”

Ephraim Sykes, “Ain’t Too Proud”

Best performance by an actress in a featured role in a musical

Lilli Cooper, “Tootsie”

Amber Gray, “Hadestown”

Sarah Stiles, “Tootsie”

Ali Stroker, “Oklahoma!”

Mary Testa, “Oklahoma!”

Best performance by an actor in a featured role in a play

Bertie Carvel, “Ink”

Robin De Jesús, “The Boys in the Band”

Gideon Glick, “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Brandon Uranowitz, “Burn This”

Benjamin Walker, “All My Sons”

Best performance by an actress in a featured role in a play

Fionnula Flanagan, “The Ferryman”

Celia Keenan-Bolger, “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Kristine Nielsen, “Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus”

Julie White, “Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus”

Ruth Wilson, “King Lear”

Best choreography

Camille A. Brown, “Choir Boy”

Warren Carlyle, “Kiss Me, Kate”

Denis Jones, “Tootsie”

David Neumann, “Hadestown”

Sergio Trujillo, “Ain’t Too Proud”

Best orchestrations

Michael Chorney and Todd Sickafoose, “Hadestown”

Larry Hochman, “Kiss Me, Kate”

Daniel Kluger, “Oklahoma!”

Simon Hale, “Tootsie”

Harold Wheeler, “Ain’t Too Proud”

Best scenic design of a musical

Robert Brill and Peter Nigrini, ‘Ain’t Too Proud”

Peter England, “King Kong”

Rachel Hauck, “Hadestown”

Laura Jellinek, “Oklahoma!”

David Korins, “Beetlejuice”

Best scenic design of a play

Miriam Buether, “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Bunny Christie, “Ink”

Rob Howell, The Ferryman”

Santo Loquasto, “Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus”

Jan Versweyveld, “Network”

Best costume design of a musical

Michael Krass, “Hadestown”

William Ivey Long, “Beetlejuice”

William Ivey Long, “Tootsie”

Bob Mackie, “The Cher Show”

Paul Tazewell, “Ain’t Too Proud”

Best costume design of a play

Rob Howell, “The Ferryman”

Toni-Leslie James, “Bernhardt/Hamlet”

Clint Ramos, “Torch Song”

Ann Roth, “Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus”

Ann Roth, “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Best sound design of a musical

Peter Hylenski, “Beetlejuice”

Peter Hylenski, “King Kong”

Steve Canyon Kennedy, “Ain’t Too Proud”

Drew Levy, “Oklahoma!”

Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, “Hadestown”

Best sound design of a play

Adam Cork, “Ink”

Scott Lehrer, “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Fitz Patton, “Choir Boy”

Nick Powell, “The Ferryman”

Eric Sleichim, “Network”

Best lighting design of a musical

Kevin Adams, “The Cher Show”

Howell Binkley, “Ain’t Too Proud”

Bradley King, “Hadestown”

Peter Mumford, “King Kong”

Kenneth Posner and Peter Nigrini, “Beetlejuice”

Best lighting design of a play

Neil Austin, “Ink”

Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer, “Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus”

Peter Mumford, “The Ferryman”

Jennifer Tipton, “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Jan Versweyveld and Tal Yarden, “Network”