The finalists for the 2019 International Opera Awards have been announced, with a number of Australians nominated in important categories. The annual ceremony celebrates achievement in opera across a wide range of categories, encompassing performance, design, direction, education and outreach. This year’s finalists were chosen by an international jury of 42, chaired by OperaMagazine Editor John Allison and including Opera Australia’s Artistic Director Lyndon Terracini.

“It’s gratifying that we received a record-breaking number of nominations for this year’s International Opera Awards, and I feel that this excitement is reflected in the shortlists we’re announcing today,” said Allison, “Spanning six continents, these shortlists – chosen by our international jury – reflect the truly cosmopolitan nature of the art form, and the vibrancy of work being done despite challenges faced by opera companies large and small everywhere.”

Unsurprisingly, Australian composer Brett Dean’s hugely successful Hamletis in the running for Best Recording (Complete Opera), its world premiere at Glyndebourne preserved on DVD thanks to Opus Arte. Following its successful time at Glyndebourne,its Australian premiere at the Adelaide Festivallast year won similar acclaim, and it’s now set to open at the Metropolitan Opera in its 2021/22 season. Nicholas Carter,...

Access our paywalled content and archive of magazines, regular news and features for the limited offer of $3 per month. Support independent journalism.

Subscribe now or log in to continue reading.