The Australia Council has released the results of its latest grant rounds including its regular project categories and the outcomes of the Contemporary Music Touring Program. The $6.8 million worth of funding in the latest core grants round will support 222 projects by 133 individual artists, 30 groups, and 59 arts organisations.

The Australia Council received a total of 1,336 applications in the latest core grants round – with 29 percent of applications coming from people applying for the first time – spanning Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts, Community Arts and Cultural Development, Dance, Emerging and Experimental Arts, Literature, Multi-art form, Music, Theatre and Visual Arts.

Grant recipients in Music include Chris Latham, who receives $30,000 for the Diggers’ Requiem Young Artists Program, a five-day intensive built around performance of the works from composers such as Elena Kats-Chernin, Richard Mills and Ross Edwards; recorder virtuoso Genevieve Lacey, who will receive $21,000 to work with a series of business consultants to develop a sustainable business model for independent artists; composer Andrew Ford, who will receive $19,000 for composition of a group of songs to words by Australian, Irish, Shetland, Swedish and Welsh poets; Aviva Endean and Justin Marshall, who receive $20,000 to develop Music Might Happen: A Sonic Labyrinth for young audiences for presentation as part of Melbourne Fringe Festival’s curated program of experimental works for children XS, as well as The Castlemaine State Festival in regional Victoria; and composer Lyle Chan, who receives $50,000 for Extended Playa, a 12-hour marathon of new music from noon to midnight on August 25 this year across the auditorium, function room and foyer spaces of City Recital Hall. Tasmanian early music ensemble Van Diemen’s Band will also receive $34,000 towards a national tour with international guest artists.

Also receiving funding are Clocked Out, the Grigoryan Brothers, Tyalgum Festival, Matthias Schack-Arnott, Meng Wang, The Peggy Glanville Hicks Trust, Rubiks Collective, Speak Percussion, the Flinders Quartet, Tura New Music and The Australian Voices.

Over 20 peers participated in the assessment process including Martin Jackson (Melbourne Jazz Co-op), Michelle Forbes (Tasmanian Youth Orchestra), Graham Strahle (critic, The Australian), Carolyn Chard (West Australian Opera), Thomas de Mallet Burgess (Lost and Found Opera), Anne Cawrse (composer), Emily Tulloch (Zephyr Quartet) and Jeremy Rose (The Vampires/Earshift Music).

The full list of grants are available on the Australia Council website