Opera Australia was the big winner at the 35th annual Green Room Awards, taking home awards in each of the nine categories in which it was nominated, leaving Victorian Opera and Melbourne Opera empty handed.

The Green Room Awards celebrate outstanding achievement in the professional performing arts in Melbourne across theatre, music theatre, opera, dance and cabaret. The ceremony, which was held last night at the Comedy Theatre, awarded productions and artists who had excelled in 2017.

Opera Australia’s production of Karol Szymanowski’s King Roger won seven awards including Best Production, Best Female Lead for Lorina Gore and Best Male Lead for Michael Honeyman. Damiano Michieletto won Best Direction for Cavalleria Rusticana/Pagliacci.

Michael Honeyman and Lorina Gore in King Roger. Photograph © Keith Saunders

In the Music Theatre category Opera Australia and John Frost’s revival of My Fair Lady won five awards including acting gongs for Charles Edwards, Robyn Nevin and Reg Livermore. Disney’s Aladdin also took home five awards including Best Production.

Christie Whelan Browne, one of three actors who made sexual misconduct allegations against Craig McLachlan and who has since had to deal with serious trolling on social media, won Best Female Lead in Music Theatre for her acclaimed performance in Vigil, a one-woman piece written by Steve Vizard with her in mind.

In the Theatre category, Best Production went to The Season, produced by Tasmania Performs. Kate Mulvany was named Best Female Performance for her portrayal of the title role in Richard 3 for Bell Shakespeare, while Best Male Performer went to Paul Blackwell for Faith Healer (Melbourne Theatre Company and Belvoir). Wild Bore at Malthouse Theatre was named Best Ensemble. In the Independent Theatre category Little Ones Theatre and Rawcus took home the majority of the awards.

In the Dance category Lucy Guerin won the Shirley McKechie Award for Choreography for Split which also won two other gongs. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Sue Giles, the Artistic Director of Polyglot Theatre for children and young people.

Full list of winners here