APRA AMCOS has announced the 2019 Art Music Fund recipients, with the $100,000 allocation supporting nine composers across seven new projects. This year’s recipients are Professor Anne Boyd, Anthea Caddy and Judith Hamann, Dr Eve de Castro-Robinson, Liam Flenady, Kate Neal, Dr James Rushford, and David Shea and Monica Lim.

Anthea Caddy and Judith Hamann. Photo Supplied. 

“Themes of place, the environment, and climate change are some of what is reflected in the successful applications, and many other of the applications to this year’s Art Music Fund,” John Davis, the CEO of the Australian Music Centre said. “These are the themes that dominate much of Australia and New Zealand’s social and political agenda, demonstrating that the artform engages with the ‘here and now’ in very direct ways.”

Currently in its third year, the Fund aims to create commissioned work that is complemented by an exploitation program, that may include recordings, performances or presentations. There are already plans for recordings of the new works, as well as performances slated for locations including Melbourne, Auckland, Brussels, Berlin, New York, Fife and Scotland.

The projects themselves are incredibly diverse, from a new opera to music for new instruments....

Access our paywalled content and archive of magazines, regular news and features for the limited offer of $3 per month. Support independent journalism.

Subscribe now or log in to continue reading.