Two singers, a pianist and a sax player go head to head with Nigel Westlake for Best Classical Album.

The first ARIA Awards for 2013 will be presented in Sydney on October 15 at a ceremony to be held at the Art Gallery of NSW. Nominations for Best Classical Album have gone to pianist Sally Whitwell for her chart topping Michael Nyman Album, Norway-based leading contertenor David Hansen for his nine world premiere castrati arias CD, saxophonist Amy Dickson for her film music inspired album Catch Me If You Can, soprano Jane Sheldon for her album North + South and Nigel Westlake for his moving Requiem for Eli.

Following the trend in recent years the classical, jazz and world music awards will be dealt with in a separate event six weeks ahead of the main awards ceremony, highlighting the perceived gap between ‘highbrow’ and ‘lowbrow’ despite the attempts by several of the key nominees to broaden the audience for classical music.

ARIA Chairman and Chairman of Sony Music Asia Denis Handlin said: “ARIA is delighted to recognise and celebrate the diverse and talented Australian musicians and artisans in all seven categories.” The celebration will culminate at the 27th ARIA Awards to be held on December 1 which will be a classical-lite event and will be broadcast on Nine Network’s digital channel GO!


Fine Arts Nominees


Best Classical Album

Amy Dickson, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra ­– Catch Me If You Can

David Hansen – Rivals: Arias for Farinelli and Co.

Jane Sheldon ­– North + South

Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Nigel Westlake – Missa Solis: Requiem for Eli

Sally Whitwell – All Imperfect Things: Solo Piano Music of Michael Nyman


Best Jazz Album

Andrea Keller ­– Family Portraits

Jonathan Zwartz – The Remembering and Forgetting of the Air

Renee Geyer – Swing

The Idea Of North – Smile

Tommy Emmanuel and Martin Taylor – The Colonel & The Governor


Best World Music Album

Airileke – Weapon of Choice

Joseph Tawadros – Chameleons of the White Shadow

Rasa Duende – Improvisations

Shellie Morris and The Borroloola Songwomen – Together We Are Strong – Ngambala Wiji Li-Wununga The Song Peoples Sessions

Various – Melodie Francaise


Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album

David Bridie – Satellite Boy

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis Present – Lawless – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Paul Kelly, James Ledger, Genevieve Lacey, ANAM Musicians – Conversations With Ghosts

Tina Arena – Symphony of Life

Various – triple j's One Night Stand


Artisan Awards Nominees


Producer of the Year

Wayne Connolly and Boy & Bear – Boy & Bear, Harlequin Dream

Luke Steele/Nick Littlemore/Peter Mayes/Jonathan Sloan – Empire Of The Sun, Ice On The Dune

Harley Streten – Flume, Flume

Virginia Read – Sally Whitwell, All Imperfect Things: Solo Piano Music of Michael Nyman

Kevin Parker – Tame Impala, Lonerism


Engineer of the Year

Dann Hume – Alpine, Seeing Red

Peter Mayes – Empire Of The Sun, Ice On The Dune

Nicky Bomba, Robin Mai – Melbourne Ska Orchestra, Melbourne Ska Orchestra

Virginia Read – Sally Whitwell, All Imperfect Things

Kevin Parker – Tame Impala, Lonerism


Best Cover Art

Justin Maller – Bliss n Eso, Circle In The Sky

Aaron Hayward and Dave Homer (Debaser) – Empire Of The Sun, Ice On The Dune

Glen Hannah – Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson, Wreck and Ruin

Kevin Parker & Leif Podhajsky – Tame Impala, Lonerism

Graeme Base – The Cat Empire, Steal The Light