Didjeridu virtuoso William Barton and oud player Joe Tawadros among this year’s big winners.

The Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) Awards have announced the winners of its Fine Arts categories in a small-scale ceremony at the Art Gallery of NSW, segregated – as usual – from the mainstream event to be televised from the Sydney Entertainment Centre on November 29.

Accepting the award for Best World Music album for Concerto of the Greater Sea, his genre-defying collaboration with the Australian Chamber Orchestra, oud virtuoso Joe Tawadros joked, “After ten years and nine nominations, it’s great to see the industry is finally trusting an Arab with a sharp object.” He also made light of the fact that the trophy read “Joseph Towardos”, spelling his name incorrectly.

On a more serious note, the 28-year-old dedicated the win to his mother Rose, who passed away earlier this year. 

Best Classical Album

William Barton – Kalkadungu (ABC Classics)

Also nominated:
José Carbó with Slava & Leonard Grigoryan – My Latin Heart (ABC Classics)
Orchestra of the Antipodes – Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (ABC Classics)
Sally Whitwell – The Good, The Bad and The Awkward (ABC Classics)
Sydney Symphony, Vladimir Ashkenazy – Elgar: The Dream of Gerontius (Decca/ABC Classics)

Best Jazz Album

Sarah McKenzie – Close Your Eyes (ABC Music)

Also nominated
Barney McAll – Graft (Jazzhead/MGM Distributon)
Grace Knight – Keep Cool Fool (ABC Music)
James Morrison – Snappy Too (Morrison Records)
McGann – Wending (Rufus/Universal Music)
Steven Rossitto – Night & Day (ABC Music) 

Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album

triple j – Straight To You: triple j’s Tribute To Nick Cave (ABC Music)

Also nominated:
Jane Rutter – An Australian In Paris (ABC Classics)

Jon English & The Original Cast of The Rock Show – The Rock Show (Ambition / EMI)
Rockwiz – Rockwiz Christmas Album (Liberation Music)
Various Artists – The Sapphires – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Sony Music) 

Best World Music Album

Joseph Tawadros – Concerts of the Greater Sea (ABC Classics)

Also nominated:
Dead Can Dance – Anastasis (Liberation Music)

Nicky Bomba’s Bustamento – Intrepid Adventures To The Lost Riddim Island (Vitamin Records / Transmitter Records)
Sarah Calderwood – As Night Falls (ABC Music)
Warren H Williams & The Warumungu Songmen – Winanjjara: The Song Peoples Sessions (ABC Music)