Bob Wilber is Here! (saxophone: Bob Wilber)

This reunion of Bob Wilber and his multi-reed protégés Anti Sarpilla and Nic Payton should delight mainstream jazz lovers.

With Wilber the familiar is never commonplace: the unbridled swing of Vampin’ Miss Georgia, based on the chords of the venerable Sweet Georgia Brown, features the three on soprano saxophone. Even better is The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise, showcasing their clarinet styles to great effect.

Anne Barnhart’s flute blends nicely Wilber’s clarinet on some of the ballads. Her husband, stride pianist Jeff, is a strong soloist and with bassist Nicki Parrott forms a first-class rhythm section.

Copyright © Limelight Magazine. All rights reserved

What are your thoughts on this article? Have your say and leave your comments below.
NOTE: You must be a registered member of Limelight to post a comment.
Click here to login | Click here to register
Please read our guidelines on commenting. Offending posts will be removed and your access may be suspended. Abusive or obscene language will not be tolerated. The comments below do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of Limelight or its employees.
Bob Wilber is Here! (saxophone: Bob Wilber)
4.5 out of 5
Current Issue
May 2014 issue on sale now!
What's On
Close Get the May 2014 issue of Limelight mailed to you for $8.50, including postage.

Buy now
Digital Version