Chinese composer Tan Dun wins Hamburg Bach Prize

The composer of the Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon film score has his sights set on Oz.

Chinese composer and conductor Tan Dun has been named recipient of the 2012 Bach Prize of the City of Hamburg in a presentation coinciding with his 55th birthday. The prestigious award is given every four years to "an exceptional composer of our time."

Tan Dun worked as a rice planter on in a government commune during the Cultural Revolution, before studying composition at Columbia University. He is best known for his scores for films including Crouching TIger, Hidden Dragon and Hero, and for collaborations with cellist Yo-Yo Ma. 

The composer is pictured here with a copy of Bach’s original St Matthew Passion manuscript, which formed the basis of his own work, Water Passion after St Matthew.

Copyright © Limelight Magazine. All rights reserved

What are your thoughts on this article? Have your say and leave your comments below.
NOTE: You must be a registered member of Limelight to post a comment.
Click here to login | Click here to register
Please read our guidelines on commenting. Offending posts will be removed and your access may be suspended. Abusive or obscene language will not be tolerated. The comments below do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of Limelight or its employees.
Chinese composer Tan Dun wins Hamburg Bach Prize
Current Issue
May 2014 issue on sale now!
What's On
Close Get the May 2014 issue of Limelight mailed to you for $8.50, including postage.

Buy now
Digital Version