Live review: Sydney Symphony with Nicholas Angelich & Jakub Hrusa

Sydney Opera House Concert Hall, Aug 3
Replacement maestro Hrůša handles the heavy artillery of Brahms and Rachmaninov

Brahms’ Piano Concerto No 1 in D Minor Op 15 was intended to be a symphony, and it is clear from the grand, decisive opening that we are about to hear a work of symphonic proportions. Nicholas Angelich and Jakub Hrůša (the latter replacing Tugan Sokhiev, who was indisposed) understood this and scaled their performance accordingly, the conductor emphasising the fullness of Brahms’ orchestration, and the pianist projecting a larger-than-life solo part. Few passages in the first movement sound like a “normal” 19th-century piano concerto, but whenever they occurred Angelich lightened his touch deftly. The second movement is a magnified rumination on the slow movement of Beethoven’s 4th Concerto and was sensitively done. The pianist’s lovingly sculpted solos were occasionally marred by an out-of-tune B natural. (I’m not being precious here; it was rather obvious.) Angelich launched into the final Rondo at quite a lick without sacrificing expressive detail or weight of tone.

A brisk Carnival Overture was followed by Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances. This late masterpiece is a virtual concerto for orchestra and each soloist seized the moment, especially saxophonist Christina Leonard and first violin Natalie Chee. The plaintive woodwind passage in the first dance was beautifully blended; what an interesting orchestrator Rachmaninov was! Hrůša kept the vast forces together with clarity and rarely introduced any quirks of his own. When he slowed almost to a halt in the second movement Waltz and imposed a sudden race to the finish at the work’s close, I wasn't convinced. Nevertheless he is a charismatic and capable young conductor.

Copyright © Limelight Magazine. All rights reserved

What are your thoughts on this article? Have your say and leave your comments below.
NOTE: You must be a registered member of Limelight to post a comment.
Click here to login | Click here to register
Please read our guidelines on commenting. Offending posts will be removed and your access may be suspended. Abusive or obscene language will not be tolerated. The comments below do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of Limelight or its employees.
Live review: Sydney Symphony with Nicholas Angelich & Jakub Hrusa
Jakub Hrůša
Current Issue
May 2014 issue on sale now!
Jakub Hrůša
What's On
Close Get the May 2014 issue of Limelight mailed to you for $8.50, including postage.

Buy now
Digital Version