Yo-Yo Ma and Paul Simon win 2012 Polar Music Prize

Each laureate of Sweden's prestigious music award receives one million Swedish krona.

This year’s Polar Music Prize has been awarded to cellist Yo-Yo Ma and singer-songwriter Paul Simon. Each laureate receives one million Swedish krona and will be presented with his prize by His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden at a ceremony in Stockholm Concert Hall on August 28.

The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by the late Stig Anderson, publisher, lyricist and manager of ABBA. The award recognises two individuals from different musical genres each year in an effort ‘to break down musical boundaries by bringing together people from all the different worlds of music’. Former recipients include the Kronos Quartet, Renée Fleming, Steve Reich, Valery Gergiev, Pierre Boulez, Bob Dylan, Björk and Ennio Morricone.

What are your thoughts on this article? Have your say and leave your comments below.
NOTE: You must be a registered member of Limelight to post a comment.
Click here to login | Click here to register
Please read our guidelines on commenting. Offending posts will be removed and your access may be suspended. Abusive or obscene language will not be tolerated. The comments below do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of Limelight or its employees.
Yo-Yo Ma and Paul Simon win 2012 Polar Music Prize
Current Issue
May 2014 issue on sale now!
What's On
Close Get the May 2014 issue of Limelight mailed to you for $8.50, including postage.

Buy now
Digital Version