You are here

Sydney Piano Competition candidates revealed

Features - Classical Music

Sydney Piano Competition candidates revealed

by Melissa Lesnie on March 15, 2012 (March 15, 2012) filed under Classical Music | Comment Now
The 36 competitors have been chosen following a gruelling round of international auditions.

The 10th Sydney International Piano Competition of Australia has announced its line-up. The 36 young pianists, selected from 171 live worldwide auditions, will compete for a swag of prizes including $25,000 and a Naxos recording deal for First Place, and a 2013 national tour with the Flinders String Quartet for a finalist chosen by the ensemble. The competition, held every four years, will feature six Australian pianists in 2012, all hailing from Sydney.

2012 Sydney International Piano Competition:

Arta Anicane (London)
Alexandra Beliakovich (New York)
Mikhail Berestnev (New York)
Feng Bian (Los Angeles)
Guido Biddau (Rome)
Wei Cao (Paris)
Stefan Cassomenos (Sydney)
Angelika Fuchs (New York)
Tanya Gabrielian (New York)
James Guan (Sydney)
Stefano Guarascio (Sydney)
Atsushi Imada (Tokyo)
Maya Irgalina (London)
Elizaveta Ivanova (Hamburg)
Wenbin Jin (New York)
Joanne Kang (New York)
Nikolay Khozyainov (Moscow)
Jin-Hong Li (Shanghai)
Brian Lin (New York)
Ke Lin (Sydney)
Aaron Liu (Sydney)
Ilaria Loatelli (Rome)
Dmitry Onishchenko (Vienna)
Olga Paliy (London)
Marios Panteliadis (Rome)
Poom Prommachart (Singapore)
Alex Raineri (Sydney)
Lu Shen (New York)
Yinfan Sun (Shanghai)
Benoit Tourette (Paris)
Sean Yeh (New York)
Jung-Yeon Yim (Los Angeles)
Qian Yong (Los Angeles)
Tomoaki Yoshida (Vienna)
Avan Yu (Hamburg)
Hao Zhu (Shanghai)

The 2012 Sydney International Piano Competition of Australia runs from July 4 – 21 at the Seymour Centre and Sydney Opera House.