Score for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo revealed

Rocker-turned-composer Trent Reznor unveils music for David Fincher's much-hyped film.

The loveable gothic heroine of The Girl with the Dragon, Lisbeth Salander, looks and dresses like a typical Nine Inch Nails fan. Perhaps that's why Trent Reznor, the alternative music wizard who has been releasing albums under the Nine Inch Nails moniker for over 20 years, agreed to work on the score for David Fincher's American remake of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, the first film in a trilogy based on the bestselling Sieg Larsson books.

Reznor and his collaborator Atticus Ross made their first foray into the world of film music with Fincher's previous feature The Social Network, which won them the 2010 Oscar for Best Original Score, beating out established film composers Alexandre Desplat (The King's Speech) and A R Rahman (27 Hours).

For their latest project, the pair took a more "orchestral" and "organic" approach than in their predominantly electronic score for The Social Network. The result, according to Reznor on his official Nine Inch Nails website, is a "sprawling three-hour opus" comprising 39 songs that took more then a year to write and record.

"We laughed, we cried, we lost our minds and in the process made some of the most beautiful and disturbing music of our careers," he said.

Reznor is giving away six free songs from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo soundtrack ahead of the full album release. The film, which stars Daniel Craig and Mara Rooney, opens in Australian cinemas on January 19.

Download the sampler or listen to the music in the trailer below.


The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo: tracklist

01 Immigrant Song (Led Zeppelin cover) [ft. Karen O]
02 She Reminds Me of You 
03 People Lie All the Time 
04 Pinned and Mounted 
05 Perihelion 
06 What If We Could? 
07 With The Flies 
08 Hidden in Snow 
09 A Thousand Details 
10 One Particular Moment 
11 I Can't Take It Anymore 
12 How Brittle the Bones 
13 Please Take Your Hand Away 
14 Cut Into Pieces 
15 The Splinter 
16 An Itch 
17 Hypomania 
18 Under the Midnight Sun 
19 Aphelion 
20 You're Here 
21 The Same as the Others 
22 A Pause for Reflection 
23 While Waiting 
24 The Seconds Drag 
25 Later Into the Night 
26 Parallel Timeline With Alternate Outcome 
27 Another Way of Caring 
28 A Viable Construct 
29 Revealed in the Thaw 
30 Millennia 
31 We Could Wait Forever 
32 Oraculum 
33 Great Bird of Prey 
34 The Heretics 
35 A Pair of Doves 
36 Infiltrator 
37 The Sound of Forgetting 
38 Of Secrets 
39 Is Your Love Strong Enough? [Bryan Ferry cover]

Copyright © Limelight Magazine. All rights reserved

What are your thoughts on this article? Have your say and leave your comments below.
NOTE: You must be a registered member of Limelight to post a comment.
Click here to login | Click here to register
Please read our guidelines on commenting. Offending posts will be removed and your access may be suspended. Abusive or obscene language will not be tolerated. The comments below do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of Limelight or its employees.
Score for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo revealed
Mara Rooney as Lisbeth Salander in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.
Current Issue
April 2014 issue on sale now!
Mara Rooney as Lisbeth Salander in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.
What's On
Close Get the April 2014 issue of Limelight mailed to you for $8.50, including postage.

Buy now
Digital Version